State of the parties

Nearly all MPs are members of political parties. The list below details the composition of the House of Commons, which is made up for a total of 650 seats, based on the number of MPs in each party. If an MP is not a member of a political party, they are known as an 'Independent'.

The Conservative party forms a majority government. Their current working majority is 49. This takes into account the non-voting Speaker and their deputies, and non-sitting Sinn Féin MPs.

Graphical view