Dame Diana Johnson

The Rt Hon Dame Diana Johnson is the Labour MP for Kingston upon Hull North and Cottingham, and has been an MP continually since 5 May 2005. She currently holds the Government post of Minister of State (Home Office).

Parliamentary career

Find out about the Parliamentary career of Dame Diana Johnson, including posts and roles held.

UK Parliamentary constituency boundaries have changed following a review in 2023. For more information read this insight from the House of Commons Library: ‘Boundary review 2023: Which seats will change in the UK?’


Shows current posts, roles, party affiliation and other relevant information.


Shows previous posts, roles and other relevant information.


Elections contested

Brentwood and Ongar
7 June 2001

Government posts

Parliamentary Under-Secretary (Department for Children, Schools and Families) (Schools)
Department for Children, Schools and Families
9 June 2009 - 13 May 2010
Assistant Whip (HM Treasury)
HM Treasury
2 July 2007 - 10 June 2009

Opposition posts

Shadow Minister (Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs)
Foreign and Commonwealth Office
18 September 2015 - 27 June 2016
Shadow Minister (Home Affairs)
Home Office
8 October 2010 - 18 September 2015
Shadow Minister (Health)
Department of Health
12 May 2010 - 8 October 2010

Committee memberships