Mr David Gauke

The Rt Hon Mr David Gauke is no longer a Member, but was most recently the Independent MP for South West Hertfordshire, and left the Commons on 6 November 2019.

The dissolution of Parliament took place on 30th May 2024. There are currently no MPs – all seats in the House of Commons are vacant until after the general election on 4th July 2024. Find information on former members who were MPs at the time Parliament dissolved.

Find your constituency for the general election.

Parliamentary career

Find out about the Parliamentary career of Mr David Gauke, including posts and roles held.

UK Parliamentary constituency boundaries have changed following a review in 2023. For more information read this insight from the House of Commons Library: ‘Boundary review 2023: Which seats will change in the UK?’


Shows previous posts, roles and other relevant information.


Party affiliation

4 September 2019 - 6 November 2019
5 May 2005 - 4 September 2019

Elections contested

South West Hertfordshire
12 December 2019
Brent East
7 June 2001

Government posts

Lord Chancellor and Secretary of State for Justice
Ministry of Justice
8 January 2018 - 24 July 2019
Secretary of State for Work and Pensions
Department for Work and Pensions
11 June 2017 - 8 January 2018
Chief Secretary to the Treasury
HM Treasury
14 July 2016 - 11 June 2017
Financial Secretary (HM Treasury)
HM Treasury
15 July 2014 - 14 July 2016
Exchequer Secretary (HM Treasury)
HM Treasury
13 May 2010 - 15 July 2014

House membership

Mr David Gauke
5 May 2005 - 6 November 2019

Opposition posts

Shadow Minister (Treasury)
HM Treasury
3 July 2007 - 6 May 2010

Committee memberships