East Antrim

East Antrim is a constituency in Carrickfergus, Northern Ireland. The seat is currently vacant, and was last held by Sammy Wilson (Democratic Unionist Party) between 6 May 2010 to 6 November 2019.

The dissolution of Parliament took place on 6 November 2019. All business in the House of Commons has come to an end and there are no MPs. Every seat in the Commons is vacant until after the general election on 12 December 2019.

From the home page you can access links to more information about Parliament during the election period.

2005 General Election

The 2005 General Election was held on 5 May 2005. A total of 5 candidates ran for election.


Democratic Unionist Party

You can view more detailed information about this election result on the election result pages.

Share of the vote

The graph below shows the share of the vote across all the candidates.


The table below shows the individual vote breakdown for each candidate.

Candidate/Party Votes Share Change
Notional Candidate
Democratic Unionist Party
15,766 49.6% 49.6%
Notional Candidate
Ulster Unionist Party
8,462 26.6% 26.6%
Notional Candidate
5,016 15.8% 15.8%
Notional Candidate
Social Democratic & Labour Party
1,695 5.3% 5.3%
Notional Candidate
Sinn Féin
828 2.6% 2.6%